The schedule is set and provisional line-ups are available for this Saturday’s PBR Classic and Kansas City Croquet Club Doubles Championship. The action starts at 1:00 p.m. with the doubles event and all teams are asked to be on hand 30 minutes prior to start time. A quick rules refresher and tutorial will be offered in advance of the start.

The PBR Classic Singles Six-Ball Championship is slated for a 5:20 p.m. start with three qualifiers and two players advancing from each to play in the championship final estimated to start at 7:50 p.m.

2020 KC Doubles Championship

The event starts at 1:00 p.m. and players are expected to arrive 30 minutes prior to game-time. The event follows advanced MCA Nine Wicket Rules with 60 minute games and three timeouts per side. The event is a single-elimination knockout. Full bracket here:

2020 PBR Classic | Established 1998

Qualifiers: 60 minutes, play to third place, 1 timeout per player
Advancement: 1st and 2nd place advance

MCA Rules will be utilized with the experimental forced stop for all players after hitting the halfway peg. The turn ends for any player that scores the turning peg (ninth point). There is no method to gain an additional shot and no deadness can be incurred on the stroke that scores the halfway peg.

Qualifier 1 – 5:20 PM (approx)
R. Darst (PITT ST)
J. Williams (KU)
T. Groebe

Qualifier 2 – 5:20 PM (approx)
G. Lloyd (KSU)
J. McMahon (KU)
S. Goodwin (KU)
A. Thornton
B. Darst (Rockhurst)

Qualifier 3 – 6:40 PM
D. Goodwin (KU)
A. Groebe (KU)
K. Thornton (KU)
K. Whitworth (MU)
J. Stephens (KSU)

PBR CHAMPIONSHIP – 7:50 PM (approx)

Return of the Alumni Cup

The event will also revive the Alumni Cup by introducing a scoring system based on places during the Classic in the qualifiers and championship final. All players will indicate a representing school they have attended during entry. Classic players are also encouraged to wear school apparel.

Scoring is as follows:

Qualifier: 1st – 10 pts, 2nd – 6 pts, 3rd – 4 pts, 4th – 3 pts, 5th 2 – pts, 6th – 1 pt.
Championship: 1st – 25 pts, 2nd 18 pts, 3rd – 15 pts, 4th – 12 pts, 5th – 10 pts, 6th – 8 pts.

The Alumni Cup ran as a team nine-wicket challenge from 2008-2011 with the KU alumns scoring three wins in a row.

Entry Fee

Event entries are $30 for all events and are a two-for-one deal. Meaning any single entry covers a free second entry. Half of all entries fees will be donated to Children’s Mercy Hospital in consideration for the cancellation of the 2020 Big Slick fundraiser. Fees can be paid at the event.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s